Skip to content

If You are a Runner, I’m Jealous

March 8, 2010

If you read the title of this post, you know I’m jealous of runners.

  1. I’m jealous of how easy they make it look.
  2. I’m jealous of the long lean muscle most have.
  3. I’m jealous of how happy runners look while out for an evening run.
  4. I’m jealous of how their clothes fit
  5. I’m jealous of the healthy glow they have.
  6. I wouldn’t mind being good enough at something that people were jealous of me.

Jealousy is not pretty.

Since jealousy is not pretty, I figure the only way to beat it is to join them.

I ran today.  I began the journey toward becoming a runner today.  I laced on my brand new shoes that should be a good match for me according to a ton of research on Runner’s World, a knowledgeable sales associate at Famous Footwear, and my experience with my feet.

Now, I am not a runner and have never been.  Ages ago, when I threw shot-put, discus and javelin for varsity track and field, I would get sent out with the team to run a few miles before practice.  Those of us that were non-runners would get out of sight of Coach Brida and instantly hide in the woods.  We’d hang out for the 15-20 minutes it would take for the rest of the team to come back and then start running again as they passed.  I wish someone would have kicked me in the butt and told me that later I would really regret not being in better shape.  Sometimes I wish my parents had been the pushy, stereotypical, soccer/stage-mom that made me do things for my own good.

Today I started off with a brisk 5 minute walk to warm up. Then I ran for 60 seconds followed by 90 seconds of walking.  I repeated that for 20 minutes.  Not too shabby for a beginner.  I feel great about myself.  I got pretty winded doing the intervals, but my feet feel great.  Those shoes are like clouds wrapped around my feet.  I can hardly wait to get to some real running.  I’m training according to the  Couch-to-5K Running Plan.  It’s a nine week program that trains your body so that you can run 5K nonstop by the end.

Here is this week’s 3 day workout plan. i plan to walk for 30 minutes on the non-plan days.

I’ll keep you updated on how I do.

Another topic for today is fiber.  I have diet problems in that I do not typically eat my daily recommended amount of calories and my metabolism is almost non-existant and stores everything I eat.  I’m working on that but I figured I could use a little nutritional help as well as a daily multivitamin. Fiber is said by some to improve digestion, regulate your cholesterol, and may even cut the risk of some cancers.  Sounds good to me.

So I did some research and decided upon Benefiber.


I bought the one with extra calcium as my doctor has often mentioned that I need as much calcium as I can get.  This stuff is pretty neat.  It’s flavorless and mixes well into food or drinks regardless or temperature.  I mixed a tablespoon of Benefiber into my glass of orange juice last night.  It took a little while to dissolve totally but I couldn’t taste it at all once is was.  This morning I mixed it into some applesauce. Not a single taste or texture change.  I highly recommend it if you need more fiber in your diet. And no, I have not been paid, bribed, or begged to talk about any of these products.

Perhaps I will be one of those pretty runners by this time next year.  Prettier for having made myself a better person.

Is there anyone you want to be like?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 09:05

    That is great you are running!! Congrats!! and a 5k is alot, so that sounds like a great plan you are on. I love going to the gym during my lunch and running a mile and half, its a great feeling and when I come back to work, I feel great! I also use benefiber, my hubs has some LI issues, so we use it quite a bit. Thanks for stopping by and entering into my teapot giveaway!

  2. March 9, 2010 18:39

    Good for you! My husband, our 22 year old daughter and I started the c25k program last week. Having to repeat w1 this week as we’re still struggling; well, at least I am! And boy it sure isn’t pretty 😉 I too am jealous of those who make it look so very easy; but also like you have hope that this time next year someone, somewhere will be jealous of ME!! Keep up the good work!

  3. March 19, 2010 20:46

    Thanks the author for article. The main thing do not forget about users, and continue in the same spirit.

Leave a Reply

