Skip to content

Be There With Bells On

March 10, 2010

I want to run and keep running.

It is 35 degrees Fahrenheit today and the rain just keeps coming down.  While most people are inside today, I embraced the weather.  I ran in it. Just another step towards becoming a real runner.  I decided today while running, (Isn’t it a wonderful way to clear and center your thoughts!) that I needed more concrete goals than just “become a runner”.  I have decided that I will take part in a “Jingle Bell Run” that benefits the Arthritis Foundation.  I look at the picture below of one of last year’s runs and know I want to be one of those runners.

Here is the list of running related goals I came up with today while running:

  • Get good enough at running to validate buying better running clothes.
  • Participate in the Jingle Bell Run on November 26th.
  • Run enough to wear out my shoes and then keep them like a victory trophy.
  • Finish the Couch-to-5K Running plan like a champ.
  • Adopt running not as a challenge but as a lifestyle.

I know, it’s only the second day of the program and I’m talking pretty big for a beginner. What you need to know about me is that I hate to fail publicly.  By blogging about my goals I am putting it all out there. If i fail, everyone who reads this will know.  I can not think of a better incentive to carry on and succeed.  I guess I better become a runner now after all.

Here’s the game plan for this week:

I am having one potential big problem while running that I can not seem to find an answer for online.  When i run, I can’t quite regulate my breathing.  I take about four steps inhaling and 2 exhaling but it just doesn’t feel right.  I feel like I should breath more often but if I do I start hyperventilating.  An advice?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

