Skip to content

Running for a Cause

March 12, 2010

Nope, you are completely wrong.  This post has absolutely nothing to do with fundraising, a non-profit, or trying to make the world a better place through running.

This post is about being terribly selfish and enjoying life.

I just got back from my run and am totally proud of myself for running a quarter mile not once, not twice, but four times.  The best part?  I don’t feel like I’m going to die and could probably go do it again now.  It’s rainy, cold, and slippery out but I did it.  Don’t put me on some pedestal because I am fighting the odds to be healthy and fit.  That is not why I did it today.

This is:

Yup.  I did it all for junk food.  I really didn’t feel like going outside to run today but the prospect of getting my favorite treat is so worth it. (I wish I had a treadmill!)

Now, this isn’t just an everyday visit to some fast-food joint.  I don’t really like most fast-food and can avoid it for months on end.  BUT… this is March.  It’s almost Saint Patrick’s Day.  That means the Shamrock Shake is back and I simply must have at least one huge cup of the frothy, creamy, minty, radioactive green colored concoction.  It’s practically an american tradition.  (For this american anyway)

  • Easter = hard-boiled-eggs
  • Fourth of July = watermelon
  • Halloween = candy corn
  • Thanksgiving = turkey
  • Christmas = cookies and lefse
  • New Year’s Eve = bubbly (sparkling cider in my case)
  • Valentine’s Day = boxed chocolates
  • St. Patty’s Day = Shamrock Shake

Of course, I can hardly visit McDonald’s for a caloric sucker-punch and not go all out.  I’ll be using up my entire daily allowance of calories on one meal.  There are decent options at McDonald’s to keep the calories down, but since this is a once a year occasion, I’ll be getting the biggest shake I can with a ten-piece chicken nuggets and that yummy honey-mustard sauce to dip in. I don’t feel guilty about it in the least.  I’ve worked hard this week and darn it, I’m going to enjoy it.

Do you have any food “addictions” that you just couldn’t turn down if they were put in front of you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

