Skip to content

Charlie Brown is My Kinda Man

March 16, 2010

Spring brings flowers, the return of robins, and the opening of the B&G Milkyway which is the only smart choice for ice cream deliciousness.  Two of the locations have opened already and word on the street is that the shop in my area will open at the end of March.  I crave their chocolate dipped vanilla cone.  But that’s another blog post all together.

Another less pleasant sign of spring out here in the Midwest is flooding.  We’re pretty lucky to have a great water management system here, but sometimes it doesn’t cut it.  It’s still early in flood season but thanks to warm weather and rain our huge piles of snow have become what you see below.

What?  You’re not impressed?  How about a flooded roadway?

You would need a canoe to take your kids to this park.

Flooding fascinates me but at the same time I hate it.  Flood waters can wash away homes, ruin a lifetime of memories and take lives.  I know some people up in the Fargo, North Dakota area are already having a lot of trouble as the Red River rises. But what can you do?  You build as wisely as you can, worry, sandbag, and pray for the best.  In times like these, I am always reminded of what Charlie Brown once said.

“Are you upset little friend? Have you been lying awake worrying? Well, don’t worry…I’m here. The flood waters will recede, the famine will end, the sun will shine tomorrow, and I will always be here to take care of you.

~Charlie Brown to Snoopy”

As long as we have each other, we have all we really need.  So let us not dwell on the “what-ifs”.  Remember that even if the waters may look scary are foreboding, they can also be pretty.

Isn’t it funny how that works?  It turns out that there is something pretty about most things if you only take the time to look for it.

I wonder what people would find if they took the time to look for the pretty in me.  What would they say about you?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mary permalink
    March 17, 2010 10:17

    What pictures! Man…makes me think. Thanks for the post!

  2. March 18, 2010 09:38

    I am so happy spring is here. I love that the birds are back and I can see some of my plants just starting.

    Thanks for following our blog and entering our giveaway.

    Jennifer
    http://www.carolinealexander.net

Leave a Reply

