Skip to content

Happy Friday!

March 19, 2010

Happy Friday to everyone!

The cold weather is trying to make a comeback here but I refuse to let it get me out of the spring spirit.  We’re going to the local Lawn and Garden show tomorrow to get some ideas for landscaping our yard this year.  We would like to add a fire-pit, edging, paving stones for a path and some plants.  We planted some bulbs and fruit trees last year but we might have to start over.  We put rubber trunk guards around the tree trunks to protect from rabbits but failed to realize that the rabbits could get at the tree when we developed five foot tall drifts of snow after our blizzards.  Those darn, fuzzy rodents ate most of the bark off the trees.  I am pretty sure we will have to head back out to get some new bare-root trees eventually.

Hopefully Oakridge Nursery will have great deals available at the show.

I would love to have a gorgeous garden but I am definitely not a botanist or a horticulturist.  I’m going to have to do a lot of research before we’re done.

Does anyone know of any plants that actually keep bees away?  I like them in the flower garden and know they are necessary for pollination but I wish  I had a potted plant that would deter them from the deck area since we like to eat out there when the weather is nice,.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 17:02

    Good Luck with the garden. I refuse to give up on spring also. I so need some warm weather and sunshine.
    Just wanted to stop by and thank you for entering my blog candy giveaway.
    Hope you stop by again.

Leave a Reply

