Skip to content

Happy Thursday!

March 25, 2010

Today is my favorite day of the week.  Always has been.  I love Thursdays!  I know it’s an odd day to prefer.

A lot of people  like Friday because it’s the last day of work until Monday;  Saturday because it is a day to sleep in; and Sunday for family time like church followed with a nice brunch.  I’m not against any of those days and I am certainly a fan of brunch.  I just think Thursday is lovely.

There are some fun superstitions about days of the week that I learned about when I was planning our wedding.

Wed on Monday, always poor,
Wed on Tuesday, wed once more,
Wed on Wednesday, happy match,
Wed on Thursday, splendid catch,
Wed on Friday, poorly mated,
Wed on Saturday, better waited.

Although we didn’t get married on a Thursday, we met each other on a Thursday.  That has to count for something. Doesn’t it?

There is also a poem/song that acts as a fortune-teller for what a child’s fate will be depending upon the day they are born.  Oh why couldn’t I be born earlier in the week?  It’s a bit of silliness that is believed to be descriptors of the various planets/gods that the various days of the week are named after.

Mondays child is fair of face,
Tuesdays child is full of grace,
Wednesdays child is full of woe,
Thursdays child has far to go,
Fridays child is loving and giving,
Saturdays child works hard for his living,
And the child that is born on the Sabbath day
Is bonny and blithe, and good and gay.

Poor Thursday.

Thursday is wonderful because:

  • Restaurants aren’t crowded because it’s not a standard date-night.
  • The movie store still has new releases in stock.
  • For over a decade it was “ER” night on NBC (Any suggestions on tv shows?)
  • It’s the day before my husband is figuratively returned to me for the weekend.  I miss him all week.
  • It’s bath night. I try to take a long, relaxing bubble-bath once a week.

I can almost always find a reason to be excited for a Thursday.  Today I’m making a German chocolate cake with coconut pecan icing.  it’s my husband’s favorite and he doesn’t get it often since I’m not a big coconut fan.  Hopefully he will be pleasantly surprised.

Do you have a favorite day of the week, month or year that’s not something standard?

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 10:57

    I love that poem. My husband and I were married on a Thursday. We bit the bullet on NYE of 09.

    Yay for Thursdays!

Leave a Reply

