Skip to content

Easter Plans?

March 31, 2010

For those that celebrate Easter, what sort of plans do you have?  As a child, I remember traveling to a grandparent’s house but for the life of me I haven’t a clue what went on there.

The only Easter traditions that stand out in my mind are:

  • searching for dyed eggs
  • checking out what the Easter bunny left
  • gorging myself on those malted robin’s eggs
  • going to the sunrise service at church that often was outside
  • eating hard-boiled eggs for the rest of the day

There must be more but I just don’t remember.  So I have decided that this year will be a tradition making year.

My husband picked up this lovely Easter lily for me since “You seem to really be into this Easter thing”.  I married a heathen.  A sweet one, but a heathen none the less.  With a reminder of Easter in the house, it was time to contemplate the holiday dinner.

My husband is a picky eater so lamb is out of the question as an entrée.  I decided that a big ham with brown sugar glaze was the way to go.  The stupid grocery store didn’t have a single regular ham.  All they had were fancy, gourmet, pre-cut hams that cost $7. a pound.  Ridiculous!  I refuse to pay that for ham.  After searching the store multiple times, I finally settled on the cut of meat that will become our family Easter tradition.  Possibly for all time.

We will be eating boneless pork ribs for Easter dinner.  I’m going to whip up a barbecue sauce with a little extra brown sugar and liquid smoke, and grill those.  They will be served with an asparagus Gruyère tart, Greek lemon roasted potatoes, Challah and a cheesecake for dessert.

We will of course have our Easter tree and Easter lily set out for decoration.

I don’t think I’ve ever heard of people firing up the grill for Easter.  I’d love to hear about your traditions!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

