Skip to content

In a Bit of a Jam

September 7, 2010

Fall has unofficially arrived here in South Dakota.  Yesterday was downright blustery and today we are boasting a high temperature of 62.  Perfect for some of my favorite fall-time activities!

Canning!  Specifically, making jelly or jam.

See that beautiful jelly in the picture above?  That is not my my creation.  I hoped it would be, but I experienced a horrific jelly accident.

I’m making an apple-rhubarb jelly.  I like to pre-heat my jars in the oven before filling as this method has always guaranteed a perfect seal every time.  I had the jars heating, water-bath simmering, fruit all squishy and hot and waiting for me to add the fruit pectin, and I was literally seconds away from the point of no return.  I removed the lid on the water-bath and all the condensation poured down onto the stove, dripped into the oven, onto the pan I had the jars on, and caused terrifying explosion-like sounds.  All but two of my jars cracked. Thank goodness i didn’t add the pectin yet!  It can still be saved.

The fates are against me making jelly today.  Luckily, I have a sweetheart of a husband that has promised me he will pick up a new rack of jars on his way home from work.  Thank goodness i didn’t add the pectin yet!  It can still be saved.

I’ll be finishing the jelly tonight and then I’m canning pie filling tomorrow.  Hopefully I’ll have some pictures of success by then.

What’s your favorite fall-time activity?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 07:46

    OH! That sounds dangerous! I always heat my jars in the same pot I’m going to water-bath them in.

    • September 8, 2010 08:53

      I ended up putting them in the water-bath and got perfect results on my jam. Not a single jar had less than a great seal.
      I’ve been heating them in the oven for years and that was truly a freak accident.

      Thanks for reading!

  2. September 16, 2010 09:18

    yea your the winner of my cookbook !! please email me @ granny.devault@gmail.com your address, thanks for building my following, pam

  3. September 24, 2010 06:38

    Scary! Reminds me of the explosion in my oven when I added water to an already hot glass pan. Pretty stupid and I was really lucky. Glad you are ok and all is well. Thanks for dropping by my blog.

  4. September 29, 2010 21:36

    Wow! What a crazy experience. I am glad you are ok! The jam sounds delicious!

Leave a comment